Music is part of being human

Okay, let’s start by giving the proper credits to Oliver Sacks for this blogposts title. I took the quote from his book ‘Musicophilia, Tales of Music and the Brain‘, which for one was a book from my brother while he was studying at the Academy of Pop Music. I was so kind to expand my library with such a great title. I love this book.

Brother, if you are reading this, your book is safe with me.

And the photograph of the beautiful lady playing the violin is from yours truly. When I saw her at the New York metrostation, I believe it was at 34th street Bryant Park, I knew I had to take a picture of her. She played like her life depended on it. It was breathtaking. Yes, the music too.

Speaking of which. A week ago I wrote this post that I was looking for a cello teacher. And guess what? Thanks to my friend, the singer/ songwriter Irene Hartkamp, I found one. (Yesss!!!) She connected me to a cello teacher, and the first lesson is scheduled. Like I already told you… I am excited. You have no idea. So, here’s what I’m going to do. Since I already posted the first attempt to get a reasonable sound out of this beautiful instrument, I might as well post a second attempt. Here goes…

Okay, now you know. Let’s me just enumerate all, to get this straight. I play guitar, piano, bassguitar, ukulele and a little bit of violin. But the instrument that really moves me, is the one I’ve never played before, it has to be the cello. Yes.

I have this beloved instrument for a month now and it feels good. I want to play. I want to learn. Let me find a way to describe this. It’s like a baby who doesn’t know how to speak. He has the brains. And he knows what to say. All he has to do is find the technique to use his voice, language and words. Yeah. So. I know what I want to say with the cello. Wait till I learn. Close enough? Yeah, close enough.

It’s going to be great. And music is part of being human. Thank God.

Love,
Henry

2 responses to “Music is part of being human

  1. Pingback: Meet me halfway « Henry Timisela·

  2. Pingback: When the going gets tough | Henry Timisela·

Leave a Reply

