Streetphotography

The Kid by Henry Timisela
I think I was never made to stay in school for a long time. I discovered very early I had to go out and play in the field. Now I know, I value the lessons learned in life more than ever. But before angry parents start sending me some hate-mails, I wish to speak out these simple words: ‘Kids, stay in school. It’s better‘. That being said, I would like to bring on one of my beloved activities, which obviously is photography. And how I love to learn about it everyday. As a matter of fact, one of my photographs made it to national newspapers today. Hooray!!!

I don’t want to make beautiful pictures, I just want them to be real

Yes, there I’ve said it. The whole proces of photography, in my opinion, has more to do with the social capacities of an individual and its outlook on life. Through photography I learn more about life. I can document situations, freeze expressions and tell stories. Over and over again. In a way, it gives me the power of immortality. And that excites me, over and over again. That’s why I love my photography to be real. Life as it is. Life as I know it. I don’t really care if it’s beautiful or not. For all I know, beauty is still in the eye of the beholder.

To quote the great photographer Richard Avedon: ‘My portraits are more about me than they are about the people I photograph’

I so agree with Avedon. Now you’ve read this quote. The next step is, you have to check out my online portfolio with a selection of some streetphotography. My inspirators are the old masters like Henri Cartier Bresson, Martin Parr and the modern streetphotographers Thomas Leuthard and Eric Kim. I learned a lot from them during this photocourse. Although they never spoke to me, their pictures did. So. I hope my story will soon reach you too. I used to say: ‘The streets is my studio‘. Now I have to add this one… ‘and a classroom too’

Although I’ve been very busy lately… I never miss class.

Love,
Henry

13 responses to “Streetphotography

  1. Great food for thought, Henry! I especially like the part where you mentioned that we learn more about life through photos.

    “I didn’t just build a camera. I built a time machine.” — Ian Ruhter

    • Thank you so much Millie! I love the concept of our very own Time Machine. We are history capturing history. We are therefore our own future. Love, Henry

  2. Pingback: Meet me halfway « Henry Timisela·

Leave a Reply

