The Closed Chapters

The Closed Chapter by Henry Timisela

I’ve been here before. And I’ve written a whole chapter over here. As a matter of fact, I wrote two. Or even more, I guess. I used to read them over and over again. And eventually I closed them.

Because that’s what you do with chapters in the end. You close them.

And by any happy coincidence, as far as such exists, the book of life opened up on me and revealed one of those closed chapters. I almost forgot I wrote this, for I was captured immediately. So I continued reading and things became clear. I was hoping for another ending though, but ofcourse I knew that was not going to happen. Some whishfull thinking, right?

So afterwards, I felt kinda relieved. Because of the truth. And about not fooling yourself with the joy of ignorance. Well, you know what they say, ignorance is bliss. Makes sense somewhere.

Fine. Although it was not the ending I was hoping for, it put me back with my feet on the ground. Moving forward towards the bigger picture. And at that specific moment I grabbed my iPhone and took this photograph of an old lady carrying her bag. This outlook on life made me even more focussed.

She is heading towards the future with a bag filled of stories that last a lifetime. That’s her. And in a way, that’s me. And you.

So I dare to ask, are chapters meant to be closed? That’s a chapter worth writing, my dear friend. In the meantime, let’s move on, shall we?

Think positive and let’s rewrite some history.

Love,
Henry

View original photograph

4 responses to “The Closed Chapters

Leave a Reply

