Anyone who stops learning is old

Sheet musicWoke up early on this rainy Saturday to do some running with one of my best friends. In about a month we’re attending a 45 kilometers march for a good cause. More about that march for peace later on. I just got home and took some time to practise on my music. This post is about keeping the mind young. Just like Henry Ford said:

Anyone who stops learning is old, whether at twenty or eighty. Anyone who keeps learning stays young. The greatest thing in life is to keep your mind young.

And that’s what I’m trying to do right now. It’s not like I’m a cranky oldtimer, but I never thought I would learn how to read sheet music. I’m not that good yet, but hey, I’m still learning and it really excites me. Forizzle. When I read a piece, I try to hear it already and when I actually play the piece, it almost feels like I reinvent myself again and again. It also means there are tons of other musical pieces waiting to be read and played. You must believe the total awesomeness of that experience.

In another blogpost I wrote you that I’m collecting all of these experiences in a diary. It will soon be published. Can’t wait. Reading and writing music has got a whole new dimension for me. So all I have to say for now is to enjoy your passion and share the love.

Happy learning,

Henry

One response to “Anyone who stops learning is old

  1. Pingback: Order, rhythm and harmony | Henry Timisela·

Leave a Reply

