Order, rhythm and harmony

Happiness

When I got myself a tattoo (not a big one, but special enough) I felt like I really transformed. No, not into Optimus Prime or Megatron or another Transformer but more in a spiritual way. Like I had the power to change a bodypart into something permanent. I sort of experienced this feeling much more stronger in my musical journey. How?

This is how. When I practise my celloscales I discover how important balance is. So when I produce a tone, I try to relax every muscle in my body to find the perfect harmonics. It’s almost like yoga. It makes me feel happy. Thanks to the cello, I remember this quote by the French poet Thomas Merton

Happiness is not a matter of intensity but of balance, order, rhythm and harmony

These lessons help me to use music to find and keep my focus and balance. The way I see it, it’s an art in its purest form. And I know who completes it all. It’s the muse. She brings peace.

Love,

Henry

Leave a Reply

